Champions For 2022 Honored By National Barrel Horse Association Kansas District 5

Down the Draw


The speediest barrel chasers in central Kansas have been honored.
Highpoint winners in the National Barrel Horse Association (NBHA) Kansas District 5 for 2022 were announced at Clay Center.
Recipients were named and presented awards by district director Kris Hanson, Manhattan, highlighting the yearend banquet. Regina Wilson, Wamego, has assisted with the district barrel races throughout the year and helped with bestowing recognition tokens.
Lori Lockhart of Ramona was honored with a Helping Hand blanket for hard work in NBHA Kansas District 5 activities. She also was presented with an engraved NBHA trophy buckle as the senior highpoint barrel racing contestant for the year.
Taking home the most awards during the program was Madilyn Burt of Salina. She was the highpoint buckle winner in both the Youth Teen 2D and the Youth Teen 3D divisions while placing fifth in the Youth Teen 1D division.
District director Kris Hanson won the Open 1D division for the year followed by Bayleigh Schneider, Culver; Haddie Matzke, Wheaton; and Carrie Stansaas, Concordia.
Champion in Open 2D was Taylor Gustafson, Junction City, with Hanson second, Ava Crist of Abilene, third, and Schneider, fourth.
Sherry Johnson, Enterprise, was highpoint in Open 3D, while Frank Buchman, Alta Vista, was second, Ava Widman of Manhattan, third, and Schneider, fourth.
Buchman won the Open 4D followed by Gustafson, Jaycee Aikman of Salina, and Mackenzie Racette of Junction City.
Emma Adams, Tescott, was champion in Open 5D while Ava Crist, Abilene, was second, Barb Ensign of Abilene, third, and Sarah Irvine of Enterprise, fourth.
Kaitlyn Watkins, Salina, won Youth Teen 1D with Schneider second, Allison Adams of Tescott, third, and Gustafson, fourth.
Placing second through fourth in order behind Burt in Youth Teen 2D were Allison Adams of Tescott, Crist, and Schneider.
Youth Tee 3D placings following Burt were Schneider, Adams, and Crist.
Atly Johnson, Dwight, won the youth 12 and under 1D highpoint award with Racette in second.
Following Lockhart in the senior division placings were Buchman, Gretchen Spitz of Jewell, and Yvonne Brunner of Ramona.
Information about the NBHA Kansas District 5 races for 2023 are available on Facebook.


Kris Hanson, Manhattan, director of the National Barrel Horse Association Kansas District 5, presented yearend awards with assistance from Regina Wilson, Wamego, left.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here