KU News: Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 301st Basic Training Class

Today's News from the University of Kansas


From the Office of Public Affairs | http://www.news.ku.edu


Contact: Barbara Harrison, Kansas Law Enforcement Center, [email protected]
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 301st Basic Training Class
LAWRENCE — Twenty new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Nov. 11 in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.
Gary Warner, class coordinator for the 301st Basic Training Class, expressed his appreciation for the graduates and acknowledged the many challenges they overcame throughout their training.
Commencement speaker and interim Wichita Police Chief Troy Livingston shared some advice with the graduates: “Be leaders. By stepping up to serve your communities, you are already leaders.”
Livingston described good leaders as possessing self-awareness, garnering credibility, and ones who exhibit humility. “You have joined an exceptional profession, and I like to call it the greatest show on earth,” he said.
Under the authority of Executive Director Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.
The following are the graduates of the 301st Basic Training Class:
*Award recipient
Finney County
1. *Matthew Lemm, Garden City Police Department
Franklin County
1. Zarin Goodrich, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office

Geary County
1. Joey Arms, Junction City Police Department
2. Kaylynn Bliss, Junction City Police Department
3. Marissa Ziegler, Junction City Police Department

Leavenworth County
1. Jacob Petersen, Leavenworth Police Department

Lyon County
1. Randall Crump, Emporia Police Department
2. *Alexander Weaver, Emporia Police Department
McPherson County
1. William Brouwer, McPherson County Sheriff’s Office

Montgomery County
1. Melisa Simmons, Caney Police Department

Morris County
1. Juan Sanchez-Acosta, Morris County Sheriff’s Office

Pratt County
1. Kory Hagen, Pratt County Sheriff’s Office

Reno County
1. *Kody Kuhlman, Hutchinson Police Department
Class president
1. Garrett Shuck, Hutchinson Police Department

Saline County
1. Masen Torres, Salina Police Department

Sedgwick County
1. *Lia Faber, Maize Police Department
1. Jonathan Morales, Maize Police Department
2. Kate Watson, Kechi Police Department

Shawnee County
1. Joseph Cox, Kansas Department of Corrections

Sherman County
1. Marvin Reddick, Goodland Police Department.


KU News Service
1450 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence KS 66045
Phone: 785-864-3256
Fax: 785-864-3339
[email protected]

Erinn Barcomb-Peterson, director of news and media relations, [email protected]

Today’s News is a free service from the Office of Public Affairs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here