KU News: Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 303rd Basic Training Class

Today's News from the University of Kansas


From the Office of Public Affairs | http://www.news.ku.edu


Editors: Includes officers from Allen, Dickinson, Douglas, Ellis, Finney, Jackson, Johnson, Labette, Ness, Pratt, Reno, Riley and Shawnee counties.

Contact: Barbara Harrison, Kansas Law Enforcement Center, [email protected]
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 303rd Basic Training Class
YODER — Twenty-two new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Jan. 13 in a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.
U.S. Sen. Roger Marshall, the commencement speaker for the ceremony, congratulated the graduates and expressed his deep appreciation for their sacrifice and the sacrifice of their families. “Every day, brave law enforcement officers, like the ones on stage and in the audience today, make many sacrifices to keep our communities across Kansas safe.”
The son of a law enforcement officer, Marshall shared memories of growing up with a father in law enforcement and how his father taught him to respect and appreciate law and order, and those who uphold the laws of the land. “Without these laws and the officers who enforce these laws, it would never be safe to drive on our roads or leave our homes.”
Under the authority of Executive Director Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.
The following are the graduates of the 303rd basic training class:
*Award recipient
1. Ethan Ashley, Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Police
2. Joe Barrientos, Finney County Sheriff’s Office
3. Tyler Burgen, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office
4. Jesse Caraveo Lara, Leawood Police Department
5. Adam Comer, Hutchinson Police Department
6. Julie Conklin, Ness County Sheriff’s Office
7. Nicolas Dugan, Riley County Police Department
8. Connor Eichinger, Parsons Police Department
9. *Connor Hasenbank, Dickinson County Sheriff’s Office
Director’s award for academic excellence
10. *Robert Hunter, Lawrence Police Department
Class President
11. John Hurr, MTAA Police & Fire Department
12. Joshua Nelson, Pratt County Sheriff’s Office
13. Noah Pena, Lawrence Police Department
14. Gregory Peterson, Ellis Police Department
15. Tyler Powelson, Allen County Sheriff’s Office
16. Tyler Pradin, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office
17. *Janson Robeson, Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
18. Caleb Roth, Leawood Police Department
19. Isaac Sell, Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office
20. Natalie Soukup, Riley County Police Department
21. Brandon Stogsdill, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office
22. Cody Tousey, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office.


KU News Service
1450 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence KS 66045
Phone: 785-864-3256
Fax: 785-864-3339
[email protected]

Erinn Barcomb-Peterson, director of news and media relations, [email protected]

Today’s News is a free service from the Office of Public Affairs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here