KU News: Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 298th Basic Training Class

Today's News from the University of Kansas

From the Office of Public Affairs | http://www.news.ku.edu
Contact: Jason Levy, Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center, 620-694-1400, [email protected]
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 298th Basic Training Class
HUTCHINSON — Twenty-one new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Sept. 9 at a ceremony held in the KLETC Integrity Auditorium.
Deputy David Decker of the Wilson County Sheriff’s Office was the graduating class president. The speaker for the ceremony was Chief Dale Finger of the Leawood Police Department. Steve McCorkill, KLETC senior instructor of police, was the class coordinator for the 298th Basic Training Class.
Agent Sydney Schreffler of the Kansas Racing & Gaming Commission and Officer Kollin Goering of the Hutchinson Police Department were placed on the Director’s Honor Roll. Schreffler was additionally awarded the Larry Welch Academic Award for having the highest total average on the written exams within the class. Officer Chandler Allen of the Leavenworth Police Department received the award for fitness while Officer Morney Sok of the KU Medical Center Police Department was recognized for his firearms proficiency as the class’s “Top Shot.”
Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.
Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.
About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of the University of Kansas Lifelong & Professional Education.
The graduates, who began their training in May 2022, represented multiple municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. Graduates are listed below by county and agency:
Barton County
1. Trae Wineinger, Great Bend Police Department
Brown County
1. Elliot Boldt, Iowa Tribal Police Department
Cherokee County
1. Matthew Burkhart, Galena Police Department
Douglas County
1. Geovanny Gonzalez, Lawrence Police Department
2. Tristan Handley, Lawrence Police Department
Franklin County
1. Matthew Greiner, Ottawa Police Department
Grant County
1. Elvin Rodriguez, Ulysses Police Department
Johnson County
1. Chance Thomas, Leawood Police Department
Labette County
1. Joshua Lindsey, Parsons Police Department
Leavenworth County
1. Chandler Allen, Leavenworth Police Department
2. John Yates, Leavenworth Police Department
3. Dennis Helt, Lansing Police Department
Miami County
1. Lucas Millican, Paola Police Department
Osage County
1. Caden Feliciano, Osage County Sheriff’s Office
Reno County
1. Kollin Goering, Hutchinson Police Department
2. Matthew Hickman, Hutchinson Police Department
Shawnee County
1. Zachary Cronk, University of Kansas Medical Center Police Department
2. Morney Sok, University of Kansas Medical Center Police Department
3. Sydney Schreffler, Kansas Racing & Gaming Commission
Wilson County
1. David Decker, Wilson County Sheriff’s Office
2. Jenna Reed, Wilson County Sheriff’s Office
Read more about the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.
KU News Service
1450 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence KS 66045
Phone: 785-864-3256
Fax: 785-864-3339
Erinn Barcomb-Peterson, director of news and media relations, [email protected]
Today’s News is a free service from the Office of Public Affairs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here